RSS

A Healthy Response to God’s Word: 1 Peter 2:1-3

04 Feb

Occasion: Sunday Worship 3rd February 2014

Introduction: Have you ever been around a new litter of puppies that is so young their eyes are not yet open.  All they do is sleep, eat, and grow.  Have you ever watched how they nurse their mother with persistence, and heard how they cry for her and her milk if separated for a moment?  Peter uses this mental picture to illustrate how we should desire scripture.

Text: 1 Peter 2:1-3

Purpose: Peter continues to stress the importance of our response to the scriptures as the logical response to their nature and our position in Christ.

Proposition: God wants me to desire the scriptures and the sanctifying change it produce in me.

Four Questions:

  • Do I delight in the scriptures?
  • Do I understand what I am reading?
  • Do I have a strong motivation to apply and live out what I am reading?
  • Do I regularly see Biblical growth as a result of the Spirit’s work in me?

Interrogative: How can I desire the scriptures and the changes it produces in me?

Doctrine 1: My position in Christ presses me to cherish the scriptures: If I am a Christian, then there are supernatural elements at work pressing me toward the scriptures.  1:1-3 Therefore…as newborn babes, desire the pure milk of the word, if indeed you have tasted that the Lord is gracious.

  • The scriptures were the seed through which God gave me spiritual life.

1 Peter 1:23 You were born again, not of corruptible seed but incorruptible, through the word of God.

  • This new life in Christ enables me to have spiritual understanding.

1 Corinthians 2:14 The natural man does not receive the things of the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him; nor can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned.

  • This new life yearns to grow in spiritual understanding.
  • The Spirit’s presence affects my heart and conscience.

Doctrine 2: Impurity in the Christian life hinders my love for the scriptures, and my ability to grow up into maturity by its sanctifying work: Just because I am a Christian, and God’s grace is at work in my heart, does not mean that automatically all is well in me.  I still have the ability to sin, and the way I exercise my will even as a Christian has a powerful influence on the way I relate to the scriptures and the way they change me.  2:1 Laying aside all malice, all deceit, hypocrisy, envy, and all evil speaking…

Illustration: The refining process for silver.  Until the dross is removed from the surface of the smelted silver, you cannot see your reflection in the silver.

New life in Christ awakens my conscience so I know what is right even before I see it in the scriptures.

Sin affects my response to the scriptures in three ways:

  • I will not go to the scriptures
  • I will not be sensitive to the scriptures
  • I will be unwilling to submit to the scriptures

Five specific sins that affect our response to the word of God.

  • Malice: A heart that desires to injure.
  • Deceit: A heart that plans how to hide the truth.
  • Hypocrisy: A heart that works to present a false image.
  • Envy: A discontented heart consumed with the gifts of others.
  • Evil speaking: Slandering another person, through gossip or lies.

Doctrine 3: The scriptures are the primary means through which God grows us up in the faith. 2:3 That you may grow thereby…

  • He providentially uses circumstances to direct me to scripture so He will change me.
  • He providentially uses people to direct me to scripture so He will change me.
  • Circumstances and people do not grow me in the faith.  They are simply secondary instruments to scripture in God’s sanctifying work in His children.

Conclusion: God wants me to desire the scriptures and the sanctifying change it produce in me.

  • Do I delight in the scriptures?
  • Do I understand what I am reading?
  • Do I have a strong motivation to apply and live out what I am reading?
  • Do I regularly see Biblical growth as a result of the Spirit’s work in me?
  • Perhaps I am unconverted?
  • Perhaps I am entertaining sin that is keeping me from the scriptures and their sanctifying work?
  • Repent, humble yourself, and cry for mercy, remembering the cross and His shed blood that have already provided forgiveness, cleansing, and righteousness.
  • Put off the sins keeping you from the scriptures and cry out to God for grace to love His word like a new born baby where you will be nourished, changed into the image of Christ, and built up in the faith.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 4, 2014 in 1 Peter Sermons

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
