RSS

Reflecting on My Position in Christ from: Ephesians 2:11-22

11 Sep

Reflecting on My Position in Christ from: Ephesians 2:11-22

As we have studied the book of Ephesians, we have discovered that Paul wrote this doctrinally rich book to remind us of the extent of God’s grace toward us which we can see in the many blessings that we have in Christ both as individuals, and as a local church.  His teaching is designed to motivate us to walk in Christian love and unity as a spiritual body.

These truths form the foundation of all Christian living, and provide the stability and motivation that we need to persevere in the faith.  In Ephesians 2:11-22, Paul reminds us what we were in our sins, and now what we are in Christ, so we will develop Christ-like thinking and values, as we interact with other Christians and non-Christians.  God wants our minds to be grounded in the truth pressing us to thankfulness which will result in faithful living.  What we know about God and ourselves is a critical element to Christian living.  The truth must hit our minds, before it can impact our hearts, hands and feet, however if embraced in the mind, it will move our hearts, hands, and then feet.  This right thinking embraced produces godly living and patterns.

I like what Jerry Bridges says about our relationship to the gospel.  I must think about how it relates to my life every day, and then by God’s grace I need live out what I know about it.  God has freed me from sin’s wage and authority.  He has made me an overcomer, and has provided daily grace to have victory over sin.  I must appropriate the gospel every day, and this is what Paul is commanding me to do in Ephesians.  I must remember what I was in my sins, and what I now am in Christ, so that I will consider how these gospel truths affect the way I relate to God and those around me.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 11, 2012 in Studies in Ephesians

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
