RSS

Allowing God to speak through Scripture:

03 Mar

Several basic suggestions for effective Bible study:

Recognize your dependence upon the Holy Spirit to open your eyes to the significance of spiritual truth.

Set aside a consistent time for Bible study and prayer.

Determine to read the Bible systematically.

Carefully study the passage:

  • Each book has a specific point that is being argued.
  • A proper understanding of that point helps you to understand how it fits into the big picture of Scripture.
  •  Understanding the point of the book, and how it fits into the big picture helps us be more careful with applications.
  • Understand that some of the books are not organized chronologically.
  • Utilizing language tools will enhance your understanding of the Scriptures.
  • Look up key words:
  • Ask important questions
    • Who is being addressed?
    • Why is he being addressed?
    • How does this fit into the overall argument of this book?
    • What events have led up to this being written?
    • What events are being anticipated as this is being written?
    • What was God’s specific intended purpose to His audience at that time in that context?
    • How does this God intended purpose have direct application to me today?
    • How does this God intended purpose apply to me in principle to me today?
    • What does this teach me about God?
    • What does this teach me about mankind?
    • How does God want me to be obedient to Him in my thoughts?
    • How does God want me to be obedient in my actions?
    • What Bible doctrine is this passage teaching?
    • What other passages develop this doctrine more fully?
    • How does this promise impact my life?
    • How does this example impact my life?
    • Have I taken this passage further than God’s Word allows?

Specifically and responsibly apply the passage in light of your Bible study.

Obey God’s word.

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
